• Federal Court Decides On Two Cases In Favor Of Debwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin-lawyer-magazine-names-two-federal-court-decisions-in-cases-brought-by-lawton--cates-allowing-debtors-to-sue-debt-collectors-who-improperly-sue-to-collect-credit-card-debts-as-among-the-most-important-of-2019 Wisconsin Lawyer magazine names two federal court decisions in cases brought by Lawton & Cates, allowing debtors to sue debt collectors who improperly sue to collect credit card debts, as among the most important of 2019
  • Wisconsin Consumers Score Victory Against Internet Payday Lenderwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin-consumers-score-victory-against-internet-payday-lender 1300 Wisconsin consumers who entered into loan contracts with Arrowhead Investments, Inc. from December 21, 2001 through December 21, 2007 stand to receive relief in the form of loan forgiveness in a settlement agreement approved in Dane County Circuit Court on Wednesday, July 29, 2009. Pursuant to the settlement agreement, Arrowhead Investments, Inc. has also agreed that it will not conduct business for the next five years in the State of Wisconsin.
  • Wills And Estate Planningwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/wills-and-estate-planning This blog is the first in a series of blog posts regarding estate planning. An estate plan is a comprehensive plan that provides for the distribution of property at your death. An estate plan can also provide a plan on how to handle health care and financial decisions if you are incapacitated and who should make these decisions. A will can be the main dispositive document in an estate plan or the one component in the plan. A will allows individuals to determine how their property will be distributed at the time of their death.
  • Why You Should Never Enter A Guilty Plea At Your First Court Datewww.lawtoncates.com/blog/why-you-should-never-enter-a-guilty-plea-at-your-first-court-date Published: March 06, 2019 Attorney David Stegall explains why you should never enter a guilty plea at your first court date.
  • Why Is Your Immigration Case Taking So Long?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/why-is-your-immigration-case-taking-so-long Published: May 11, 2019 USCIS Processing Delays Have Now Hit Crisis Levels
  • When Your New Car Is Constantly In The Shop: Practical Legal Tipswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/when-your-new-car-is-constantly-in-the-shop-practical-legal-tips Published: February 17, 2020 By Attorney Terrence Polich
  • What You Need To Know If Your Dog Bites Someonewww.lawtoncates.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-if-your-dog-bites-someone Attorney David Stegall blogs about what you should do if your dog bites someone. This is vital information for any one who owns or is thinking about getting a dog. He also talks about some ways that you, as a dog owner, can prevent your dog from biting someone.
  • What You Need To Know About Asylum And Refugee Lawwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-about-asylum-and-refugee-law Published: January 06, 2017 Attorney Sarjo Barrow blogs about what you need to know when it comes to Refugee and Asylum Law.
  • What To Do If You Are Injured At Workwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/what-to-do-if-you-are-injured-at-work Attorney David Stegall blogs about what you should do if you are injured at work. This blog discusses the importance of taking immediate action following a work injury, educating yourself about your rights, and exercising your legal rights if necessary.
  • What Happens When I Go To Court? The Initial Appearance.www.lawtoncates.com/blog/what-happens-when-i-go-to-court-the-initial-appearance As a criminal defense attorney, I often speak with people who are either the subject of a police investigation or they have been recently arrested. One of the questions that I get most often is when will I go to court and what will happen? To most, the criminal court process is unfamiliar and can be intimidating. This blog will assume a hypothetical client has been arrested and is facing criminal charges. For sake of clarity, I will break down the actions that typically occur between the time the police arrest a suspect through the initial court appearance. Future blogs will discuss what generally occurs at each subsequent stage of the criminal court process.
  • What “insured Status” Meanswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/what-201cinsured-status201d-means Attorney Dan Lenz blogs about dealing with Social Security Disability benefits and what "insured status" means.
  • Variable Costs Of Raising A Childwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/variable-costs-of-raising-a-child An Attorney blogs about the costs of raising a child and how the family court system tries to offset these expenses through child support.
  • Unwanted Or Harassing Phone Calls Can Be Stoppedwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/unwanted-or-harassing-phone-calls-can-be-stopped Published: March 03, 2017 Learn how to stop unwanted or harassing phone calls from telemarketers and collectors.
  • Top Five Things To Do After You Hurt Your Back At Workwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/top-five-things-to-do-after-you-hurt-your-back-at-work Published: February 18, 2020 By Attorney David Stegall
  • The War On Democracywww.lawtoncates.com/blog/the-war-on-democracy The ballot box and the courthouse are two pillars of democracy that have long defined American democracy. We have embraced the notion of one person one vote, and the ability to have our disagreements resolved by a jury of our peers. These ideals have come under attack in Wisconsin this year and the result is bad for democracy. Attorney Dixon Gahnz discusses recent laws that limit democracy and people's rights.
  • The Verdict: Wisconsin's Lemon Lawwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/the-verdict-wisconsins-lemon-law- Published: May 11, 2019 Observations on a Powerful Consumer Remedy
  • The Dangers Of Sexting In Wisconsinwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/the-dangers-of-sexting-in-wisconsin Almost everyone these days has a cell phone. Everyday mobile technology is improving and making it easier for all of us to communicate with one another. An unintended consequence of this technology is the explosion of “sexting” in Wisconsin and other states. This blog briefly discusses the potential legal consequences of “sexting” in Wisconsin and offers some practical suggestions to reduce or eliminate the possibility of you getting involved in a sexting investigation.
  • The Danger Of Texting And Drivingwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/the-danger-of-texting-and-driving I discussed some of the ways to stop teens from texting while driving last week. This week I want to show why it is so important. The video is a public service announcement from the UK and shows the tragedy that can result from texting and driving.
  • Texting And Drivingwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/texting-and-driving Attorney Dixon Gahnz blogs about the tragic texting and driving statistics.
  • Texting And Driving - Potential Criminal Charges?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/texting-and-driving-potential-criminal-charges Attorney Dave Stegall discusses how texting while driving can lead to bad outcomes ranging from receiving a civil citation to causing an otherwise avoidable accident. Learn how to be a safer, more informed driver by reading Dave's five points about Wisconsin's inattentive driving prohibition, which includes texting while driving.