• Is Our Civil Justice System Under Attack?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/is-our-civil-justice-system-under-attack The movie, Hot Coffee, shows how big business protects profits by convincing Americans to give up their rights. Stella Liebeck was vilified for taking on McDonald’s. Colin Gourley fought damage caps all the way to the Nebraska Supreme Court. Justice Oliver Diaz nearly lost his own freedom trying to protect the judiciary. And Jamie Leigh Jones battled six years to overcome a forced arbitration clause in her employment contract. Hot Coffee brings each of their stories vividly to life while masterfully showing Americans that when they need their legal rights the most, they, too, might discover it’s too late.
  • Ironman Training Has Parallels In Business Worldwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/ironman-training-has-parallels-in-business-world Ironman training has parallels in business world
  • Injured People Bewarewww.lawtoncates.com/blog/injured-people-beware The collateral source rule, which has been law in Wisconsin since 1908, is currently under attack. This blog discusses what will happen to injured people if proposed bills are passed.
  • Injured Children And The Lawwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/injured-children-and-the-law Children can be injured in a number of ways, from automobile accidents, to ATV injuries, to injuries from dogs. When a child is injured, the laws in Wisconsin provide some special protections. Children have a longer statute of limitations, special rules of negligence, and special protections from the court at the time of settlement.
  • If The Police Take Your Property, Can You Get It Back?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/if-the-police-take-your-property-can-you-get-it-back Attorney Dave Stegall blogs about what happens with the police seize your property and what your rights on getting that property back are.
  • I Was Hurt In A Car Accident At Work. Can I Sue The Other Driver If My Employer Paid Me Or Will Pay Me Worker’s Compensation?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/i-was-hurt-in-a-car-accident-at-work-can-i-sue-the-other-driver-if-my-employer-paid-me-or-will-pay-me-worker2019s-compensation This blog post discusses reasons you should consider suing the driver when you are injured in a car accident at work. In addition to receiving workers compensation benefits, you may be entitled to additional compensation if injured while driving on the job.
  • How To Prevent Teen Texting While Drivingwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/how-to-prevent-teen-texting-while-driving We all know that texting while driving is dangerous, but teen drivers still do it at an alarming rate. Some studies show as many as 46% of teens admitted to texting while driving. 97% of these same teens agreed that texting and driving is dangerous. A person texting while driving has her eyes off the road 400% more than one who is not. A driver who is texting is distracted and a menace to other drivers.
  • How To Obtain A Green Card In The Usawww.lawtoncates.com/blog/how-to-obtain-a-green-card-in-the-usa Published: January 26, 2017 The lingering question in most immigrants’ minds is, “How can I become a permanent resident (green card holder) in the USA?” Read Attorney Sarjo Barrow's blog about the steps to obtaining a green card in the U.S.
  • How Long Do Your Miranda Rights Last?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/how-long-do-your-miranda-rights-last
  • How Long Do Your Miranda Rights Last?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/how-long-do-your-miranda-rights-last-1 Attorney David Stegall blogs about Miranda Rights. This blog explains your Miranda Rights further than what is shown on popular criminal justice television shows. He explains what to do to utilize your Miranda Rights to their full extent if you are ever in this situation.
  • Have You Been Taken Advantage Of By Tax Filing Programs?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/have-you-been-taken-advtange-of-by-tax-filing-programs Published: August 15, 2019 Attorney Briane Pagel discusses how some online tax filing programs may be taking advantage of student loan borrowers.
  • Green Card Applicationwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/green-card-application Published: May 31, 2017 Attorney Sarjo Barrow discusses the process of green card application and eligibility requirements for obtaining a green card.
  • Frequently Asked Questions About Debtwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/frequently-asked-questions-about-debt Published: January 27, 2017 Attorney Briane Pagel answers frequently asked questions about debt and gives advice about the best way for debtors to handle their situations.
  • Freedom To Contract Is A Constitutional Right…even For Trial Lawyerswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/freedom-to-contract-is-a-constitutional-right-even-for-trial-lawyers Trial lawyers have long been a target of interest groups bent on protecting business. The attacks are usually cloaked as tort reform, which is code for depriving citizens of their constitutional rights to a trial. The latest attack is on the most basic of protections; the freedom to enter into a private contract.
  • Foreclosure And Homeowners' Rightswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/foreclosure-and-homeowners-rights-1 Published: January 06, 2017
  • Federal Court Opens Door To Civil Rights Suits In Nursing Home Caseswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/federal-court-opens-door-to-civil-rights-suits-in-nursing-home-cases An elderly woman in Pennsylvania entered a nursing home where she received improper care, according to her complaint. She developed pressure sores, became malnourished, developed sepsis and ultimately passed away. The woman’s estate brought suit claiming her civil rights were violated by the care she received.
  • Eminent Domainwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/eminent-domain Published: January 15, 2019 The Eminent Domain Process In Wisconsin; A General Overview
  • Dual Representationwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/dual-representation An Attorney blogs about the idea of dual representation, both parties having the same attorney. This is prohibited in Wisconsin and she explains why this is. This blog also talks about the option of mediation and how this can be a useful option in a divorce.
  • Don't Be Scammed By www.lawtoncates.com/blog/dont-be-scammed-by-immigration-consultants Published: December 08, 2017
  • Do We Really Have To Stop In The Name Of The Law?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/do-we-really-have-to-stop-in-the-name-of-the-law Published: March 06, 2019