• Discretionary Duty And Municipal Liabilitywww.lawtoncates.com/blog/discretionary-duty-and-municipal-liability The time has come to re-examine the principles underlying the immunity afforded municipalities for the torts of their employees. As a preliminary matter, we are not talking about huge verdicts or settlements against villages or cities. The statutes provide a $50,000 cap, no matter how badly the person is injured.
  • Damage Caps Violate Your Constitutional Right To A Trial By Jurywww.lawtoncates.com/blog/damage-caps-violate-your-constitutional-right-to-a-trial-by-jury The state and federal constitutions guarantee citizens of Wisconsin the right to a civil trial by jury. Yet, the so-called tort reformers want to limit your rights under the constitution. These attacks come in many forms such as making it more difficult to file a lawsuit, adding protections for corporate defendants, and damage caps.
  • Criminal Case Overviewwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/criminal-case-overview When someone is arrested and charged with a crime it is typically a very stressful period in that person’s life. The anxiety of not knowing with what will happen next creates a tremendous amount of stress. This blog explains the typical process of a criminal case beginning with an arrest through the completion of the court case. The blog will hopefully provide some helpful guidance along the way as well.
  • Creditors Can Be Sued For Being Too Aggressive In Collecting Debts From Youwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/creditors-can-be-sued-for-being-too-aggressive-in-collecting-debts-from-you Published: March 28, 2017 Read Attorney Briane Pagel's blog to learn your rights regarding aggressive creditors.
  • Credit Card “arbitration Agreements” Under Attackwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/credit-card-201carbitration-agreements201d-under-attack If you own a credit card, you have probably given up your right to a trial in the event of any dispute with the credit card company. You probably didn’t know that when you signed up for the card because the information was buried in the fine print. You most certainly did not know that the “arbitration” you agreed to was rigged in favor of the credit card companies.
  • Construction Lienswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/construction-liens Attorney Dan Lenz blogs about construction liens.
  • Collections Fraudwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/collections-fraud Attorney Dan Lenz announces that the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions sent out a press release on the growing problem of collections fraud, specifically collectors or persons acting as collectors making phone calls to attempt to collect a debt that may never have existed, or may have already been paid. This blog post includes a link to the release, which describes certain predatory practices and what consumers can do about them.
  • Choosing A Lawyer After You’ve Been Hurtwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/choosing-a-lawyer-after-you2019ve-been-hurt If you have been injured, one of the most important decisions you will face is who to hire as a lawyer. Your future may depend on the decision you make, and certainly thousands of dollars are at stake. Spending some time researching and choosing an injury lawyer at the outset is time well spent.
  • Capital One Class Actionwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/capital-one- Published: August 15, 2019 Lawton & Cates files proposed class action on behalf of Wisconsin customers affected by the data breach
  • Can We Really Just Drive Away From A Police Officer?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/can-we-really-just-drive-away-from-a-police-officer A recent media headline: The Wisconsin Supreme Court ruled that a driver is free to ignore a cop who walks up and knocks on the window -- even free to drive away. This is one of many similar headlines that would lead us to believe we have nothing to fear by driving away when a cop knocks on our car window. Is this really true? Attorney Dave Stegall addresses the confusion caused by the recent court decision in this blog post. He explains the facts related to the case. He also provides information about what you need to know if a police officer comes knocking on your window.
  • Criminal Defense: Can The Police Take A Sample Of My Dna?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/can-the-police-take-a-sample-of-my-dna Attorney David Stegall blogs about your rights regarding the police taking samples of your DNA. This blog explains the old law on DNA extraction and the new law that Governor Scott Walker signed in June 2013.
  • Can Social Media Affect My Family Law Case?www.lawtoncates.com/blog/can-social-media-affect-my-family-law-case An Attorney blogs about the increased use of social media in family law cases. She talks about ways you can protect yourself from this hurting your case and the ways that social media could be used in your family law matter.
  • Calculating Child Support When The Child Receives Social Security Benefitswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/calculating-child-support-when-the-child-receives-social-security-benefits An Attorney blogs about what happens when a parent receives SSDI benefits and how that plays a role in child support and the benefits that the child receives as well. She says that the court does not have to consider the benefits intended for the child but may do so if they so choose.
  • Budget Victory For Injured Peoplewww.lawtoncates.com/blog/budget-victory-for-injured-people The Wisconsin budget was recently signed by the Governor. It contains a section that makes it easier for plaintiffs to collect the full value of their medical expenses from the person that hurt them. The law should help limit the expense of a lawsuit and allow people hurt through no fault of their own to receive full compensation.
  • Breaking News: President Trump's Immigration Executive Orderwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/breaking-news-president-trumps-immigration-executive-order Published: January 26, 2017 Attorney Sarjo Barrow discusses the two executive orders signed by President Donald Trump regarding enforcement of U.S. immigration laws and how it will affect undocumented immigrants.
  • Special Session Launches New Attacks On Consumer Rightswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/bills-slam-the-courthouse-doors-shut We need more jobs in Wisconsin. If Gov. Walker’s Special Session was just about jobs, we wouldn’t be writing you today. However, three of the bills buried in the Special Session “fine print” have nothing whatsoever to do with jobs and in fact slam the courthouse doors shut for thousands of Wisconsin citizens. Let’s take a closer look: (Note: Bills move quickly through a Special Session and may be amended at any time. This information focuses on the original bills and their impact on you, your family and your friends.)
  • Bicycle Fatalities And Injurieswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/bicycle-fatalaties-and-injuries- Published: April 10, 2019 Attorney Terrence M. Polich discusses bicycle accidents and how you can prevent injury.
  • Bicycle Accident Injuries: How To Protect Yourself And Preserve Your Legal Rightswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/bicycle-accident-injuries-how-to-protect-yourself-and-preserve-your-legal-rights Whether you are a serious, experienced bicyclist or someone who enjoys biking as a leisure activity, you can sustain an injury caused by distracted drivers or the failure to follow bicycle safety laws. In this blog, Attorney Dixon Gahnz discusses what you should do to protect yourself and preserve legal rights if you or a loved one is involved in a bicycle accident.
  • Be Safe In Your Winter Drivingwww.lawtoncates.com/blog/be-safe-in-your-winter-driving Published: November 13, 2019 By Attorney Terrence M. Polich
  • Be As Prepared As Possible For Potential Disasters And Emergencieswww.lawtoncates.com/blog/be-as-prepared-as-possible-for-potential-disasters-and-emergencies-1