Wisconsin has rules and regulations that require the use of safety devices and equipment while riding in motor vehicles.
For example, Wisconsin child passenger safety laws require parents and guardians to ensure younger children ride in age-appropriate car seats.
Parents need to know what type of seat their child needs and how car seats keep young children safe in car accidents.
Wisconsin’s Car Seat Requirements by Age & Weight
Car seat requirements for children in Wisconsin vary based on a child’s age or weight.
The Wisconsin rear-facing car seat law requires an infant to ride in a rear-facing car seat in a vehicle’s back seat (if the vehicle has one) until the infant reaches 12 months or 20 pounds.
Children must continue to ride in a car seat placed in the back seat (either rear-facing or forward-facing) until they reach 4 years old or 40 pounds.
Children between the ages of 4 and 8, between 40 and 80 pounds, and under 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) must ride in a rear- or forward-facing child seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Penalties for Non-Compliance With Wisconsin Car Seat Laws
Wisconsin law imposes financial penalties on parents and guardians who do not have young children in appropriate car or booster seats.
For children under 4, parents and guardians can face a $175.30 fine for each offense. For children between 4 and 8, fines increase for each subsequent offense:
- $150.10 for a first offense
- $200.50 for a second offense
- $263.50 for a third or subsequent offense
Why Proper Restraint Matters Beyond the Fine
Car seats and booster seats provide additional protection for younger children and reduce the risk or severity of accident injuries, as a vehicle’s normal safety equipment may not work effectively on a young child’s smaller body.
Car seats keep infants and toddlers secured and have padding to reduce crash forces that could cause injuries. Booster seats position young children higher up so that a vehicle’s seat belt sits correctly across the child’s body.
What to Do If Your Child Is Injured in a Wisconsin Car Accident
If your child has suffered injuries in a car crash in Wisconsin, steps your family should take after the accident include:
- Seek prompt medical attention by taking your child to the hospital or urgent care clinic.
- Report the accident to law enforcement and obtain a copy of the police crash report.
- Request copies of medical records of your child’s treatment for accident injuries.
- Follow the treatment recommendations made by your child’s pediatrician or other physicians.
- Keep all bills or invoices of medical expenses.
- Contact an experienced car accident lawyer to discuss your family’s legal options.
Contact LawtonCates for a Free Case Review
After your child gets hurt in a car accident, you need to understand what rights your family may have.
Contact LawtonCates, S.C. today for a free consultation with an experienced Wisconsin car accident attorney to learn more about your options.